Bad Cow Marathon no.9:12

IMG_1072Now this is more like it!! Laps again but lovely course 🙂

Wow what a difference the weather makes for me 🙂 This cooler air with a few minor showers is quite refreshing.  Plus, White Star Running were kind to us this weekend, they gave us a pretty flat course…. ok well after lap 2 you do feel the inclines but this was workable and without stopping.  Well maybe I stopped twice or three times ish but only momentarily when I realised I could do better and kicked my own ass.

I gotta say that the Bad Cow lived up to its name too….. the cows on the course were really bad, eating the signage!  They were doing this on the Frolic race Saturday but surprised to see them today as well but more surprised the sign survived!!

img_1070.png(pic curtesy of Lucie Turner)

Friendly fellows though, really weren’t at all bothered by us.

So the laps were a little over 4 miles and we needed to complete 6 to make the marathon.  I was so happy to complete my first lap in under 43 minutes which inevitably got slower as I can’t seem to maintain a steady rhythm like some seasoned runners with advanced experience. But, the last thing I should be worried about is time…..well that’s not true.  You see I have Abingdon Marathon coming up soon which was donated by the lovely Mel Carroll of Poole Runners.  Now this one is a road race and you have to complete it in under 5hrs.  Now my trail marathons have been coming up slow, which is to be expected.  They are harder, hillier and the terrain can be a real challenge. So knowing this one was predominantly flatter, meant I was going to put in some more effort.

IMG_1064Now this new course was situated by the Purbecks at the Burnbake campsite. Here, the ground was pleasantly soft under foot in places, wooded area and even sand, but not without the odd minor tarmac area.  Definitely,  one to come back to and I suspect for many others….seems like some missed out on the beach weather this year mind!!! The odd sandcastle popped up to…..thought we were supposed to be running?  😉

Well after a couple of laps the sand was certainly starting to zap my strength. But little things keep you going and focused. For me seeing gorgeous wildlife and noticing we are so lucky to live in such glorious countryside. I even saw a tiny dormouse run in front of me! cute!!!!

IMG_1133
Scott Parfitt lap no….?

However, knowing fellow Lytchett Striders were also on the course was a huge support and incentive to push me along.  Two of our top runners were kicking up these tracks….. Nigel Helm, a local head teacher and I believe, understated runner, who rocks up to many marathons and quietly leaves on completion.  Then also, the ever present, Scott Parfitt and regular podium achiever.  This guy’s on fire with his ‘quest for the vest’, to complete 100 marathons and is already at 47.  Number 50 will be the original Marathon, ‘Athens’ and my penultimate for 12 this year. Mine hardly compares to this guys grit and determination…. I mean he knocks out sub 3:30 marathons on a ‘regular’ basis!!!! But his fastest ever, being 2:47:40 in Manchester. Mind blowing!!!!  So whilst trudging along myself compared to these whippets, I’m trying to push myself not to get lapped too early on by these speedsters.  At East farm, I was lapped twice, admittedly, there were more laps, by 1 or 2 extra in Scott case.  So as these laps at Bad Cow were slightly longer, I had a better chance of trying not to be overtaken repeatedly again and a tad soul destroying.  Although, it’s great to get a holla of support whilst being another incentive to kick my butt to work harder.

So what I’ve learnt from running laps, you get to bite off chunks of mileage, plus, you can prepare yourself mentally on other difficult parts. In particular, certain sections to save energy for, like an incline or looking forward to the pretty scenery. Sometimes you surprise yourself achieving a hill without stopping.  One such section was stoney and had a massive crater through it.  When there’s loads of you running it at the same time, its difficult to navigate without bumping into someone or running through the tough part just to get past slower runners.  For me it was holding back a tad so as to run on the more unpleasant part to avoid an ankle injury….after two or three laps it grates on you though.  So my motivation was to not stop here and get past it quick….easier said than done but I managed it on five of the six laps. One laps I saw several others stopping just at the worst part and it was all too easy to follow suit….dam my weak mind.  There are always some not so great sections too, like in any race. One such area was the straight path after the lovestation, you could just see the whole length and when is started drizzling, the wind whipped it up in your face harder as there was no protection from the elements there.  But reaching the top of it I knew my favorite part was just about to begin!  Rounding the next two corners led into the most pleasant section of the course.  Approximately, a mile to the start/finish of the laps and through a lovely wooded part. It had a muddy section to navigate and I managed to avoid the thick of it on many laps but by the last two, I thought sod it! I am going through it and I don’t care how muddy I get.  Okay, I saw two other runners kicking the mud at each other and having such fun I fancied joining in.  Well okay maybe not,  just wanted to pay them back for accidently getting me too 😉 arrrgggh 😉  Further on some of the ground was bouncy under foot and underneath the trees it felt like a motocross course with twists, turns and silly bumps in the path and across a bridge to lead up an embankment onto the opening of the event village. Loved it!!

Finishing this marathon was a real treat, it gave me a renewed, positive vibe and experience, now that I find i’m tiring in these latter few months of my challenge.  I also finished under 5hrs, which is what I really wanted to achieve for a trail marathon.  So extra special it was, whoop!

 

A big shout out needs to go out to both Lee Pullen who also not only knocked out a marathon at the Bad Cow frolic the day before but also a half marathon on this same day as me. Then Jono Watts who also completed the half but finished his season ticket for the year, completing 6 half marathons with White Star and earning himself a rosette for his efforts.  Then our lovely Gemma Taylor, new Strider and no.1 supporter and photographer at the Bad Cow.  All of which remained to see us all in with the weather changing for the worse.  Gotta love the Striders commitment to each other.  Thank you all x

 

Next up will be: The Isle of Wight Marathon on 8th October (my birthplace) can’t wait 🙂

 

 

Leave a comment